Steve Poirier Wins Empire Super Sprints

By Tim Baltz

The Empire Super Sprints were back for their only appearance in 2017 and the 23 caqr field did not disappoint. Former 358 Modified feature winner Chris Jones took control of the 25 lap event at the drop of the green flag with Steve Poirier, Jordan Poirier, Jeff Cook and Matt Billings completing the top 5. Jones had a stout race car and would lead the opening 10 laps but defending series champion ad race winner Steve Poirier had other ideas. Poirier would clear Jones for the lead bringing nephew Jordan Poirier and Jeff Cook with him to the top 3 while Billings still completed the top 5. On lap 15 Yan Bilodeau clipped an infield tire in turn 2 sending his car into a wild spin. Bilodeau was unharmed but his car sustained heavy damage. Under the same caution Jeff Cook would also slow with problems and head pit side for the night. On the restart Steve Poirier once again charged out to a comfortable lead but Coleman Gulick charged from just outside the top 10 to the 6th spot with a big move off turn 2. 1 lap later he would get by Chris Jones for 4th and would make a run at the top 3. In the end nobody had anything for “Fireball” as Steve Poirier would go on to claim his 3rd straight win and 8th overall at Mohawk with the Empire Super Sprints. Jordan Poirier would back up his win at Cornwall last Sunday with a 2nd place effort, Matt Billings claimed his best ever finish of 3rd with Coleman Gulick and Chris Jones rounding out the top 5.