Mike White Wins Pro Stock


The DirtCar Pro Stock Series first made a visit in 2000 at Mohawk and were back again in 2017 with 30 drivers set to take the green flag. Mike White would charge out to the early lead at the start of the 35 lap affair with Marc Lalonde, Dave Seguin, CD Beauchamp and Stephane Lebrun giving chase. White who competed for many seasons in Street Stock events at the speedway, did not miss a beat as he pulled out to a commanding lead leaving Marc Lalonde to battle with fellow Cornwall regular Dave Seguin for 2nd and 3rd. On lap 8 the first of several yellow flags flew as Pascal Payeur slowed in turn 2. On the restart Mike White held the lead once again with defending series Champion Jocelyn Roy moving to 2nd while Airborne Park Speedway winner CD Beauchamp completed the top 3 as the quickly closed in on the leader. On lap 22 Beauchamp saw a shot at victory go away as he slowed in turn 2. After several yellow flags Mike White was still the race leader and showed no signs of letting up but Bruno Cyr and Roch Aubin were making their way forward and tried at will to take the lead away. Over the remaining laps these 3 drivers put on a fantastic show for the fans as they battled hard but White remained in control. On the final lap Bruno Cyr made a move taking 2nd away and tried to take the lead from White. Heading into turn 3 Mike White would get the bite he was looking for as he shot off turn 4 and held on to score his first ever DirtCar Pro Stock Series win. Roch Aubin outran Bruno Cyr for 2nd with Nick Stone charging from 26th on the grid to finish 4th while Dave Seguin completed the top 5. Current series points leader Rob Yetman had a rough night spinning at the halfway point of the event. He would charge back for a 9th place finish.