Lance Willix Takes Unique E-Cigs Modified 50 Lapper

By Tim Baltz

In the Unique Ecigs 358 Modified Series finale the green flag flew but the caution quickly flew as well for a multi-car crash on the front stretch. John Mulder broke his front end causing him to cross right in the path of Mike Maresca, Kyle Dingwall had no place to go and slammed hard into Maresca causing heavy damage to the rear end of his car. All drivers would walk away. When the green flew again Willix would take over the lead and put on a clinic in the opening laps with Ryan Arbuthnot, Danny Johnson, Billy Dunn and Tim Fuller giving chase. On lap 8 the caution would fly again as Mike Stacey would lose a left rear tire on his ride forcing him to the pits. When the green flew Willix took the lead again but Billy Dunn was doing everything in his power to hold on to the track championship as he took over the lead with Willix and Arbuthnot completing the top 3. With Dunn in front Tim Fuller knew he had to keep the 5 time titlist in his sights as he took over 4th from Danny Johnson and quickly charged after the top 3. Carey Terrance was also on the move but on lap 12 while going for 5th in turn 1, he lost control of his car doing a complete 360 spin. Terrance would keep it going and come from 20th to finish up 6th on the evening. On lap 14 Larry Welling Jr. slowed on the back stretch and the yellow flew again. On the restart Willix was shown something as he charged back by Billy Dunn and began to drive away from a quality field. With Willix in front the attention shifted to the track championship battle as Dunn remained in 2nd but Ryan Arbuthnot and Tim Fuller were right there with him. As the laps clicked off Lance Willix was the dominant car and was cruising to what was going to be an easy win. However on lap 36 the caution flew for Louie Jackson Jr. as he slowed in turn 2. This gave Arbuthnot, Dunn, Fuller and Danny Johnson 1 final shot at the win. When the green flew Lance Willix got a great restart and never looked back as he finally claimed his first ever Unique Ecigs 358 Modified Series win and first win of the year. Arbuthnot held of for 2nd with Tim Fuller crossing 3rd and claiming the 2017 track championship while Billy Dunn and Danny Johnson rounded out the top 5. Willix was quick to credit Morrison Performance, FOX Shocks and Fastline in victory lane, along with a dedication of his big win to his father who passed away in the off season.