Results May 29th, 2015



The good folks at Wild Country 96.5 FM were on hand and witnessed some great racing on a warm night at the Mohawk International Raceway this past Friday night. The drivers were up on the wheel as the surface was lightning fast, providing the fans with some great action all night.


The 358 Modified 30 lapper was a classic battle in a caution free event this past Friday night. Gage Morin took the top spot at the drop of the green flag and was on the charge looking for his first win since the 2011 season at MIR. Morin had the fastest car on the race track as he pulled out to nearly a full straightaway over Carey Terrance and outside pole sitter Brian McDonald. Without the aid of a caution, Terrance and the rest of the field had only 1 chance at catching Morin and that was the great equalizer, lapped traffic. On lap 18 Morin was having some problems getting by some lapped cars which allowed Terrance, Raabe and last week's winner Billy Dunn to close in and make it a 4 car battle for the win. Morin was committed to the high side but Terrance had a much better car running the bottom as Raabe tried to keep pace in the 3rd position. With 5 to go Terrance made his move as he got alongside Morin in turn 2, but couldn’t pull by as Gage Morin held the top spot for the moment. With traffic getting heavier each lap the top 4 were all trying to pick the right lane, as it seemed nobody, not even lapped cars, were giving up fighting for position. On lap 29 Terrance had a little more bite off the bottom as he pulled by Morin in turn 2 and down the backstretch. Entering turn 3 Morin sailed in on the top side making it a drag race to the checkered flag with Terrance claiming his first win of the season in one of the most dramatic finishes at Mohawk in recent memory. Morin settled for 2nd with Raabe, Dunn and opening day winner Tom Conklin completing the top 5.


In the 25 lap Sportsman event Ricky Thompson looked to have the fastest car on the track in the early going as he took the lead over Kyle Sharp, Jordan Miller, Delbert Legrow and Delbert Legrow Jr. A caution for a 3 car accident on the front stretch set up another restart which brought some new contenders into the fight. When the green flew Thompson continued to lead the way but Thomas Cook was on the move from his 8th starting spot. Cook got by Legrow for 2nd and quickly ran down the leader and was on Thompson's back bumper by lap 7. 1 lap later Cook made his move taking the lead away from Thompson with Justin Lalancette, Wyatt Mullin and Zach Arquiett rounding out the top 5. Once in front Cook was one of the fastest cars on the speedway but would enter into lapped traffic, he would also have some company very quickly. That company he would have, would be opening day winner Shane Pecore, as he charged from 12th on the grid to 2nd with 8 laps to go, and close in to make it a classic Sportsman battle. On the final lap Cook and Pecore ran side by side but heading off turn 4 Cook was able to get the momentum at the right time as he edged out Pecore by a half car length to score his first win at Mohawk and 2nd of his career. Pecore would take home his 2nd straight runner up finish over Lalancette, Zach Arquiett and early race leader Ricky Thompson.


In the Mod Lite 15 lap event John Foster and Jason Paige brought the field to the green flag with Foster getting the lead over Kevin Foster and Derrick Ellsworth. John looked to have the faster car than Kevin on this night but after a lap 4 restart would lose the lead as Kevin took over the top spot and began to pull away. Opening day winner Jesse Hudson has been red hot at MIR in 2015 and this night was no different, as he moved to 2nd just before halfway and set his sights on the race leader. On lap 10 a scary moment for Jason Paige as he hooked a bump and flipped wildly in turn 4. Paige was able to climb out with no injuries but his car was destroyed. When the green flew Kevin Foster continued to lead but the red quickly flew as John Foster took a nasty tumble in turn 2. John was taken into the ambulance but was later reported to be ok and returned to the pit area. When the green flew Hudson did all he could but Kevin Foster would not be denied as he scored an emotional first career win over Jesse Hudson and Derrick Ellsworth.


The Bandit division was set to go for their 12 lap affair and Dudes Thompson took the early race lead over Shane Ray and Matt Zira. Thompson has had a good start to the 2015 season winning the opener at the Cornwall Speedway and was setting a comfortable pace but Matt Zira, who is undefeated at Mohawk in 2015 was on his back bumper on lap 5. On lap 7 after a battle with the race leader,  Matt Zira lost the handle on his race car in turn 3. He'd head pit side on the hook, done for the night. On the restart Thompson was able to pull away and lead the final 3 laps to score his 1st win of the year at Mohawk, over Corey Castell and Corbin Millar.


In the Novice Sportsman Rick Reandeau led the way in the early stages of the 15 lap event over Madison Mulder and Joel Herne. With the race going caution free it was a fantastic show between Reandeau, Mulder and Herne as they race side by side and nose to tail throughout the entire race. In the end Reandeau would

hold off all challenges to score his 2nd win in a row over Mulder and Joel Herne.



358 Modified

CAREY TERRANCE, Gage Morin, Chris Raabe, Billy Dunn, Tom Conklin, Brian McDonald, Tim Fuller, Bobby Herrington, Jordan McCreadie, Matt Woodruff, John Mulder, Geroge Foley, Charlie Rice, Craig Collier, David Papineau, Dale Planck



THOMAS COOK, Shane Pecore, Justin Lalancette, Zach Arquiett, Ricky Thompson, Robert Delormier, Wyatt Mullin, Louie Jackson Jr., Corey Wheeler, Delbert Legrow, Billy Cook, Brianna Ladouceur, Jordan Miller, Joel Hargrave, Mike Stacey, Delbert Legrow Jr., Tim Smythe, Kyle Sharp, Neal Provost, Nolan Swamp, Darryl Mitchell, Moise Page, Sid Harmer Jr.


Novice Sportsman

RICK REANDEAU, Madison Mulder, Joel Herne, Greg Snyder, Junior Delormier, Styles Arquiett, Gabriel Cyr, Marcel Lafleur, Reg Castelle


Mod Lite

KEVIN FOSTER, Jesse Hudson, Derrick Ellsworth, Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson, Benjamin Cartier, Nick Mallette, Karine Thibault, Louis Pepin, John Foster, Dan Desnoyers, Jason Paige, Dan Reif, (DNS) Scott Waldriff



DUDES THOMPSON, Corey Castell, Corbin Millar, Shane Ray, Neil Martin, Jake Paul, Jeff Trapp, Richard Thorton, Curtis Smith, Matt Zira