After 2 weeks of rain the drivers at Mohawk were anxious to get out and tackle the very fast track this past Friday night. With drivers having all this time off it gave them plenty of time to adjust their set ups and for many drivers it was just what they needed.


The 358 Modifieds were set for 30 laps of action as David Papineau and George Foley brought the field to the green flag with Papineau taking away the top spot. Brian McDonald had a great car on this night as well and would take the lead away as the field completed lap 1. The driver to watch on this night was Tim Fuller, who is making his return to the speedway on a full time basis in 2015. The former World of Outlaw Late Model regular battled McDonald and was able to take the lead on the high side in turn 4 on lap 3 with Gage Morin, Tom Conklin and Jordan McCreadie rounding out the top 5. Once in front Fuller put on a clinic as he quickly built up a 5 second advantage by lap 15 while behind the race leader, winner from 2 weeks ago, Carey Terrance was making some big moves forward as he jumped into the top 5 on lap 19 but had a lot of work to do to catch the leader. By lap 20 Fuller had a 7 second lead over Morin McDonald Terrance and Billy Dunn. Without a caution flag Gage Morin and the rest of the field were pretty much helpless as Fuller cruised to his first Mohawk win since the 2007 season with Morin 2nd. Dunn made a big move in the final laps to take 3rd with Carey Terrance and Brian McDonald rounding out the top 5 at the finish.


In Sportsman action it appeared the fans at MIR were set for yet another caution free race as Ricky Thompson was setting a torrid pace as he rim rode around the outside part of the speedway with Delbert Legrow Jr., Joel Hargrave and Thomas Cook. Thompson had a fast car but the outside groove began to go away by lap 10 and Joel Hargrave took full advantage as he closed in looking for the race lead. That's exactly what he got as Hargrave took the lead away on lap 12 with Thompson 2nd and Legrow Jr. rounding out the top 3. On lap 16 the first and only yellow flew. Under caution Thompson had mechanical issues and was forced pitside ending what could have been a potential victory. On the restart Hargrave continued his pursuit of his first career win but Louie Jackson Jr. was in the hunt using the outside lane. He quickly moved to 2nd getting by Legrow and tried hard to run down the leader. By lap 20 Hargrave was beginning to pull away and despite the late race charge by Jackson it was not enough as Joel Hargrave put all the bad luck behind him and scored career win #1 in the DirtCar Sportsman ranks at Mohawk. Jackson settled for 2nd with Sid Harmer Jr. taking home is best ever Mohawk finish of 3rd, Delbert Legrow Jr. and Robert Delormier completed the top 5.


The Quebec Lightning Sprints were also on the card for their only appearance in 2015. Jordan Poirier was the early pace setter in the 20 lap feature over Alex Therrien and Lou Torres. Poirier had a great car in the early going but nearing the midpoint of the race lapped cars turned out to be an advantage for Therrien as he closed in looking for the lead on lap 13. 2 laps later Therrien used the lapped cars as a pick to get by Poirier and would remain untouchable in the remaining 5 laps as he cruised on to the victory over Torres, Charles-David Dumont, Guillaume Neiderer and Jordan Poirier who faded to 5th at the checkered flag.


15 laps was the distance in the newly formed Novice Sportsman division and Joel Herne showed he meant business by jumping out to the lead in the early going over 2 time winner Rick Reandeau and Junior Delormier. Herne had one of the fastest cars on the track for the entire race, and with this feature gong caution free Rick Reandeau and the rest of the field had no chance of catching Herne who made it look easy to score his first ever Sportsman victory after numerous Semi-Pro wins and track titles at MIR. Reandeau crossed in 2nd with Madison Mulder finishing a strong 3rd at the finish.


The Bandits were ready for battle in their 12 lap feature go and Matt Zira was the dominant force. He took the lead from his 3rd starting spot and was the fastest car out there as he built up over a straightaway lead by halfway over Shane Ray. With the race going gree to checkered Matt Zira had a rather easy night, as he scored his 3rd win of the year with Shane Ray coming home 2nd and Curtis Smith completing the top 3.


In the Mod Lite 15 lap event Dan Desnoyers was looking for something good to happen as he took the lead from the drop of the green over Harley Brown and Kevin Foster. His lead however didn't last long as Harley Brown took over the lead on lap 3 with Kevin Foster getting by for 2nd and Jesse Hudson also getting into the mix as he took over 3rd. Brown had a great car and was driving away from everyone but with 2 laps left to go the caution flew setting up an exciting finish. When the green flew Brown went to the high side but Hudson had a strong car on the bottom and pulled even as the top 2 raced side by side for the win. On the final lap entering turn 3 Brown gave it all he had but lost the handle in turn 4 giving Jesse Hudson all the room in the world as he scored his 2nd win in 4 tries over Kevin Foster and Dan Desnoyers.


Next week Cedarview Golf will be on hand for a full card of racing in all 5 divisions, plus an Ironman Enduro qualifier. The racing action begins at 7:30pm.


358 Modified


358 MODIFIED  -  TIM FULLER, Gage Morin, Billy Dunn, Carey Terrance, Brian McDonald, Danny O'Brien, Tom Conklin, Jordan McCreadie, George Foley, Clement Therrien, Alain Therrien, Chris Raabe, Dale Planck, Matt Woodruff, John Mulder, David Papineau, Dexter Stacey, Luke Stewart, Roy Delormier, Craig Collier




SPORTSMAN  -  JOEL HARGRAVE, Louie Jackson Jr., Side Harmer Jr., Delbert Legrow Jr., Robert Delormier, Larry Welling Jr., Zack Arquiett, Thomas Cook, Shane Pecore, Mike Stacey, Wyatt Mullin, Corey Wheeler, Delbert Legrow, Moise Page, Justin Lalancette, Brianna Ladouceur, Billy Cook, Bruce Makinson, Jordan Miller, Perry Francis, Tim Smyth, Ricky Thompson, Kyle Sharp, Brad Winters, Darryl Mitchell, Nolan Swamp


Novice Sportsman


NOVICE SPORTSMAN  -  JOEL HERNE, Rick Reandeau, Madison Mulder, Junior Delormier, Gabriel Cyr, Miguel Peterson, Greg Snyder, Styles Arquiett, Jamie Martin


Quebec Lightning Sprints

QUEBEC LIGHTNING SPRINTS  -  ALEX THERRIEN, Lou Torres, Charles-David Dumont, Guillaume Neiderer, Jordan Poirier, Eric Sundborg, Alex Vigneault, Stephane St-Laurent, Bejamin Mathieu, Nick Denyse, Kathy Caissy, Johnny Leclair, Yannick Poirier, Benjamin Malo


Mod Lite

MOD LITES  -  JESSE HUDSON, Kevin Foster, Dan Desnoyers, Mathieu Robinson, Dan Reif, Jason Paige, Steve Jeffery Jr., John Foster, Harley Brown, Nick Mallette, Cameron Reif, (DNS) Bailey McDonald



BANDITS  -  MATT ZIRA, Shane Ray, Curtis Smith, Cory Castell, Deven Cook, Neil Martin, Corbin Millar