After a long hard work week it was back to racing action this past Friday night at the Mohawk International Raceway. Cedarview Golf was on hand and was treated to some great racing that involved last lap passes and other adventures along the way.

In 358 Modified action John Mulder and Jordan McCreadie brought the field to the green flag but it was 3rd place starter Brian McDonald who would lead lap 1 over Mulder, Tom Conklin, McCreadie and Carey Terrance. With the outside groove being the fast way around McDonald used that to his advantage as he pulled out to a big lead but Carey Terrance was on the move from his 6th starting spot. The 2010 track champion moved into 2nd by lap 6 and began to close the gap on McDonald as the race neared the 1/3 mark. By lap 9 Terrance had caught McDonald and did all he could do to take away the top spot while behind them Tom Conklin, Chris Raabe and Jordan McCreadie raced hard for a top 5 position. On lap 12 Terrance took over the top spot and began to put on a dominant performance. With Terrance well out front Chris Raabe and Brian McDonald put on a fantastic show for 2nd and 3rd, swapping the position several times with many crossover and slide job moves before Raabe took control of the 2nd spot for good on lap 22. By lap 23 Terrance had nearly lapped up to 10th place Pat O'Brien and was on the charge, cruising to another win. However this all changed on lap 29 as the yellow flew for Danny O'Brien who had mechanical issues in turn 2. With a 1 lap shootout to decide the winner Terrance had to get a great restart, and he did just that as he held off a very determined Chris Raabe at the finish to become the first 2 time winner of the year. Raabe, McDonald, Billy Dunn and Jordan McCreadie completed the top 5 finishing order.

In Sportsman action Ricky Thompson took over the lead from the drop of the green flag over Brianna Ladouceur and Corey Wheeler. Thomspon had a fast car but a lap 2 caution bunched up the field giving Ladouceur a shot at the race lead. When the green flew Ladouceur went to the high side and drove by Thompson for the lead with Wheeler still 3rd. Thompson re-grouped and drove to the extreme outside, by lap 6 he would retake the top spot as behind the top 2, Wheeler, Louie Jackson Jr., and Sid Harmer Jr. were all closing in to try and get their shot at the top spot. On lap 15 Wheeler dipped to the low side and made the move work as he took over the lead bring Jackson to 2nd, Thompson, Ladouceur and Harmer continued to round out the top 5. On lap 18 the great run for Ricky Thompson ended with a blown engine bringing out the yellow flag. When the race went back under green Wheeler remained in control but points leader Shane Pecore was on the move from his 10th starting spot. Pecore drove by Ladouceur for 3rd on lap 22, then took over 2nd from Jackson coming to the white flag. Despite his late race charge nobody was going to catch the 2 time and defending track champion on this night as Corey Wheeler became the first 2 time winner in 2015. Pecore crossed in 2nd with Dylan Evoy coming from 12th on the grid to finish up 3rd, Zach Arquiett and Sid Harmer Jr. completed the top 5.

The Novice Sportsman event saw one of the most exciting finishes of the year as Gabriel Cyr took the lead at the start of the race over Joel Herne and Madison Mulder. Cyr had one of the fastest cars out there but on lap 10 Darryl Mitchell spun in turn 2 bunching up the field for a key restart. When the green flew Cyr continued to lead but former Street Stock champion Greg Snyder found the outside to his liking as he took 2nd from Mulder and then chased down the race leader Gabriel Cyr. On the final lap Snyder put it all on the line as he drove to the high side in turn 4 and sailed by Cyr to record his first win in the Novice Sportsman division. Cyr came home 2nd with last week's winner Joel Herne crossing in 3rd.

The 15 lap Mod Lite feature was a fantastic show as Derrick Ellsworth had the fastest car on the track taking the lead by lap 1 from his 6th starting spot, over John Foster, Dan Reif, Mathieu Robinson and Dan Desnoyers. By lap 6 Ellsworth was on cruise control building up a full straightaway lead while John Foster and Mathieu Robinson tried to keep pace. On lap 7 the first of 3 cautions flew for Cameron Reif who spun bunching up the field for the restart. When the green flew Ellsworth took the lead away and seemed destined for victory as he pulled away once again. On lap 13 the yellow flew for the final time which made more work for Derrick Ellsworth. When the green flew for the final time Jesse Hudson made one last shot at the leader but it wasn;t enough as Derrick Ellsworth stormed on to victory over points leader Jesse Hudson and Harley Brown.

In the 12 lap Bandit feature Cory Castell grabbed the lead in the early going over Matt Zira and Dudes Thompson. Castell would lead the first 2 laps before the caution flew bunching up the field for the only restart of the race. On the restart Castell continued his great run but Matt Zira was ready to pounce. On lap 4 Zira made a daring 3 wide pass to take the lead from Castell bringing Dudes Thompson with him to 2nd. By halfway Zira had nearly a straightaway lead over the entire field and from there would go unchallenged to score his 2nd in a row and 4th victory of the season over Cory Castell and Neil Martin.

Next week the 2nd round of the Frenchie's Chevy Runs Deep 358 Modifieds is set for battle along with a full show in all divisions. Racing starts at 7:30pm.


358 Modified


CAREY TERRANCE, Chris Raabe, Brian McDonald, Billy Dunn, Jordan McCreadie, Lance Willix, Tim Fuller, Tom Conklin, Gage Morin, Pat O'Brien, Luke Stewart, Dexter Stacey, John Mulder, Matt Woodruff, Charlie Rice, Craig Collier, David Papineau, Danny O'Brien, Jenna David, Patrick Dupree, (DNS) George Foley



COREY WHEELER, Shane Pecore, Dylan Evoy, Zack Arquiett, Sid Harmer Jr., Gilles Godard, Brianna Ladouceur, Louie Jackson Jr., Wyatt Mullin, Mike Maresca, Moise Page, Mike Stacey, Thomas Cook, Adam Rozon, Delbert Legrow, Rick Reandeau, Joel Hargrave, Larry Welling Jr., Nolan Swamp, Jean-Nicholas Garreau, Delbert Legrow Jr., Robert Delormier, Billy Cook, Brad Winters, Tim Smythe, Kyle Sharp, Ricky Thompson, Jordan Miller. 


Novice Sportsman

GREG SNYDER, Gabriel Cyr, Joel Herne, Madison Mulder, Styles Arquiett, Junior Delormier, Darryl Mitchell, Regi Castelle 

Mod Lite


DERRICK ELLSWORTH, Jesse Hudson, Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson, John Foster, Dan Reif, Kevin Foster, Rej Lemieux, Dan Desnoyers, Steve Jeffery Jr., Jason Paige, Cameron Reif, Benjamin Cartier, Nick Mallette, Brad Reif, (DNS) Henry Lamica




MATT ZIRA, Cory Castell, Neil Martin, Dudes Thompson, Shane Ray, Curtis Smith, Devan Cook, John Messenger, Richard Thorton, (DNS) Corbin Millar