On an absolutely perfect night of racing the Big Block Modified Super DirtCar Series made its annual stop at the Mohawk International Raceway this past Thursday night. All the top stars in the big block ranks were on hand but quickly found out the local small block drivers were up for the challenge. 

The big blocks were set to battle for 100 laps but it was a pair of local small blocks who would lead the field to the start of the event. Carey Terrance and Brian "Slim" McDonald led the field of 30 drivers to the green with McDonald getting the advantage using the top side of the race track over Terrance, Billy Dunn, Luke Whitteker and Brett Hearn. McDonald was driving like a man possessed as he drove out to nearly a 7 car length lead in his potent small block entry but would soon enter some heavy traffic, and the chase was on. McDonald slipped through the lapped cars with no problem as Terrance and Dunn stayed within 5 car lengths in 2nd and 3rd. On lap 20 McDonald made slight contact with the wall coming off turn 4 briefly handing the lead to Terrance but McDonald was not phased as he drove back around the outside to regain the top spot with Dunn 3rd, Hearn and Whitteker still completed the top 5. At this point Billy Dunn decided to unleash big block power and used a great move in traffic on lap 26 to take over the lead. Once in front Dunn started to drive away and without the aid of a caution over the next 16 laps, would make it tough on the rest of the field. On lap 42 the first yellow flew for Dave Rauscher as he slowed to a stop between turns 3 and 4. At this point of the race the top 5 had shaken up considerably as Dunn found 3 time Super DirtCar Series champion Billy Decker right there with him when the green flew on lap 45 with Hearn, Terrance and now Pat Ward completing the top 5. Both Dunn and Decker began to pull away from the field and clearly had the fastest cars on the track as the race approached the halfway point. On lap 60 the next yellow flew for Danny O'Brien who slowed in turn 2. When the green flew Dunn remained in control and had a great car for the shorter runs but Decker had a much better machine and closed in once the laps began to click off. On lap 72 another yellow flew bunching up the field for the start and Decker got up on the wheel and decided it was go time. When the field went back under green Decker immediately went to the bottom and raced side by side with Dunn while Pat Ward moved to 3rd with Terrance and Jimmy Phelps rounded out the top 5. On lap 80 Decker was able to get the advantage he was looking for as he took the lead away and started to drive off from everyone but his days work was far from over. Despite pulling away from a stacked field Tim Fuller was on the move from his 14th starting spot as he worked his way to 3rd by lap 88 and eventually got by Dunn on lap 90 for 2nd, but still had work to do to chase down Decker. The help showed up in the form of a yellow flag for Lance Willix and Mark Kislowski who tangled on the front stretch. The green was out on lap 91 and Fuller was on a mission to defend home turf as he went to the top and at one point on lap 93 was able to grab the lead by only inches but the experience of Decker saw him take his time, work the bottom and gain the lead back. Fuller tried several times to get by but  nothing would work on this night as Billy Decker cruised to the win, his 64th career series win and first ever at Mohawk. Fuller charged to 2nd with Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps and Brett Hearn completing the top 5. 

In the 35 lap Frenchie's Ford Go Further Sportsman Series sophomore Brianna Ladouceur drew the pole position and wasted no time going to the front of the field with Shane Pecore, Louie Jackson Jr., John Scarborough and Sid Harmer Jr. completing the top 5 early on. Ladouceur, by far, had the fastest car on the speedway as she pulled out to nearly a 2 second advantage in the opening 10 laps as the leaders began to enter traffic. This usually bunches up the field and makes things difficult for the leader but on this night it actually made Brianna Ladouceur faster as she cut through the lapped cars with no issues and gained another half second over Pecore, Jackson, Corey Wheeler and Scarborough. With 10 laps to go Shane Pecore started to turn it up just a little bit more as he quickly gained on Ladouceur and the chase was on. With 5 to go Ladouceur remained in control but Pecore was right on the back bumper and looking for 1 mistake to try and capitalize. On the white flag lap coming off turn 2 Pecore slipped up ever so slightly which allowed Ladouceur to get away and drive on to score her 2nd win of the year, first ever at Mohawk and first ever Frenchie's Series victory in the caution free event. Pecore settled for another 2nd place finish, his 4th of the year, followed by 2 time track champion Corey Wheeler, 4 time series champion Dylan Evoy and Wyatt Mullin. 

In the 20 lap Mod Lite event Harley Brown was the class of the field in the early stages and after his first ever win 1 week ago, was full of confidence but John and Kevin Foster had something to say about it as the closed in on the race leader by lap 11. On lap 13 Kevin Foster and Mathieu Robinson tangled while battling for position forcing Robinson around in turn 4. On the restart Kevin Foster was able to maintain his spot and drive alongside of Brown and putt on a great side by side battle for the win. Over the next 7 laps Foster and Brown put on a fantastic show but on this night Harley Brown was not going to be denied as he stormed by Foster coming off turn 4 on the final lap to record his 2nd career win in the last 6 days at MIR. Kevin Foster finished a hard fought 2nd with points leader Jesse Hudson equaling his worst finish of the year coming home 3rd. Derrick Ellsworth and John Foster rounded out the top 5. 

Next week racing action switches back to Friday nights with a full show in all classes plus its Ladies Night with the first 150 ladies receiving a free carnation from Flowers Cornwall and all ladies will be entered into a draw for a diamond necklace courtesy of Pomier Jewlers in Cornwall. The racing starts at 7:30pm. 

Super DirtCar Series (100 laps)


BILLY DECKER, Tim Fuller, Pat Ward, Jimmy Phelps, Brett Hearn, Billy Dunn, Chad Brachmann, Ryan Arbuthnot, Matt Sheppard, Stewart Friesen, Luke Whitteker, Keith Flach, Larry Wight, Danny Johnson, Mario Clair, Jim Davis, Carey Terrance, Peter Britten, Adam Roberts, Lance Willix, Brian McDonald, Erick Rudolph, Rich Scagliotta, Charlie Rice, Tyler Dippel, Mark Kislowski, Jordan McCreadie, Danny O'Brien, Laurent Ladouceur, Dave Rauscher


Frenchie's Ford "Go Further" Sportsman Series (35 laps)


BRIANNA LADOUCEUR, Shane Pecore, Corey Wheeler, Dylan Evoy, Wyatt Mullin, Gilles Godard, Zack Arquiett, Sid Harmer Jr., Brandon Sweet, Ricky Thompson, Louie Jackson Jr.,John Scarborough, Ryan Stabler, Rick Reandeau, Darryl Nutting, Joel Hargrave, Delbert Legrow, Jason Shipclark, Larry Welling Jr., Jordan Miller, Moise Page, Neal Provost, Mike Stacey, Gabriel Cyr, Tim Smythe, Robert Delormier, Joel Herne, Justin Lalancette


Mod Lite

HARLEY BROWN, Kevin Foster, Jesse Hudson, Derrick Ellsworth, John Foster, Dan Desnoyers, Mathieu Robinson, Dave Brown, Nick Mallette, Dan Reif, Jason Paige, Cameron Reif, Brad Reif, Jim Bogett, Bailey McDonald