The 2015 racing season is beginning to wind down as there are only 2 weeks left and points are becoming critical this time of year at Mohawk International Raceway. The good folks at Twin Leaf Stores were on hand and the action was fast pacedin all divisions as very few caution flags flew during the night.

358 Modifieds were ready for action and Brockville Ontario's John Mulder set a torrid pace at the start of the event with Chris Raabe, David Papineau Luke Stewart and Bobby Herrington completing the top 5. Mulder hasn’t won a 358 Modified feature since Brockville in 2005 and was turning some quick laps but Chris Raabe was on the move looking to score his 2nd win in a row. After starting in the 6th spot Raabe would close in on Mulder in traffic by lap 12 and made several attempts to get by for the lead. Mulder was able to keep the lead but one slip in traffic on lap 18 allowed Raabe to get by with Brian McDonald, Danny O'Brien and Papineau all battling hard in the top 5. On lap 25 the race's only yellow flew for Roy Delormier who slowed on the backstretch. This gave Brian McDonald a clear shot at the race leader having just gotten by Mulder for 2nd before the caution flag. When the green flew Raabe jumped out front and would go unchallenged over the final 6 laps to score his 2nd feature win in a row in 2015. McDonald claimed 2nd with Danny O'Brien, Billy Dunn and Carey Terrance rounded out the top 5.

 In Sportsman action Bruce Makinson took control of the field at the drop of the green flag with Delbert Legrow Jr., Billy Cook, Mike Stacey and Delbert Legrow Sr. rounding out the top 5. Makinson had the quickest car on the speedway all night as he rocketed away from the field by 6 car lengths by lap 7 and was looking to end a 4 year winless drought. With no cautions in the opening 13 laps Makinson was on cruise control building nearly a full straightaway lead on lap 13 with Legrow Jr., Cook, Sid Harmer Jr. and Delbert Legrow Sr. completing the top 5. On lap 14 the points leader Shane Pecore got twisted around in turn 3 bringing out the race's only yellow flag. On the restart Makinson continued to lead but Billy Cook was on the move in his stout machine. Cook would pressure Delbert Legrow Jr. for 2nd, eventually getting by on lap 17 and would close the gap on the race leader. With 5 to go Cook slowed in turn 2 allowing Makinson to pull away as Cook amazingly was able to hold onto 2nd with Sid Harmer Jr. in the 3rd spot. It had been since July of 2011 at Brockville when Bruce Makinson visited victory lane and the drought ended on August. 21 of 2015 at Mohawk as Bruce Makinson scored his 2nd career win and first at MIR over Cook, Harmer, Delbert Legrow Jr., and Gilles Godard who came up to finish 5th at the checkers.

The Mod Lite feature was set to go for 15 laps with Dan Desnoyers taking away the early lead over Deric Ellsworth, Harley Brown Scott Waldrif and Jesse Hudson. Desnyoers has had the worst luck all year and was looking strong on this night but Ellsworth has really turned up the wick in 2015 as he hounded the race leader in the opening 7 laps. On lap 8 Ellsworth used a big move on the high side of the speedway to take over the lead with Desnoyers, Brown, Waldrif and Hudson rounding out the top 5. Ellsworth appeared headed for an easy win but a lap 14 caution bunched up the field for a green, white, checkered finish. When the green flew Ellsworth was able to hold off all challengers to score his 2nd win of the year over Brown, Waldrif, Hudson and Desnoyers.

In the 12 lap Bandit feature 4 time feature winner Matt Zira took the Corbin Millar back up car to the early race lead at the drop of the green flag with Millar and Shane Ray giving chase. Zira looked fast in the early going but Millar had a faster car and showed it on lap 6 as he took over the race lead leaving Zira to battle with Shane Ray for 2nd. With the race going caution free Millar was able to pull away and claim his 3rd straight Bandit victory of the season with Matt Zira holding on for 2nd, Shane Ray would hold onto his points lead with a solid 3rd place finish

The Novice Sportsman 15 lapper saw Styles Arquiett take the lead from the outside pole over Darryl Mitchell and Junior Delormier. The yellow flew right away on lap 1 as last week's winner Regi Castelle lost the handle in turn 2 spinning off the back stretch. When the green flew Arquiett continued to lead but the driver on the move was Madison Mulder. After taking 2nd on lap 8 Mulder quickly closed in on the leader and the battle was underway. On lap 11 Arquiett made one mistake slipping up the track in turn 3 which allowed Mulder to slip by on the bottom of the speedway and pull away from the field. On the final lap heading to the white flag Darryl Mitchell slammed the wall in turn 4 bringing out the red flag. Mitchell would climb out of the car unhurt but his car was done for the night. On the final restart Mulder was able to pull away by 5 car lengths and score his 2nd win of the year over Arquiett and Chris Frennier.

 Next week a full program is slated to go in all 5 Classes at the Mohawk International Raceway and a big night for the Sportsman division as the Frenchie's Ford Go Further Sportsman Series champion will be crowned. The first green flag drops at 7:30pm.


358 Modified

CHRIS RAABE, Brian McDonald, Danny O'Brien, Billy Dunn, Carey Terrance, John Mulder, David Papineau, Bobby Herrington, Tim Fuller, Gage Morin, Luke Stewart, George Foley, Matt Woodruff, Craig Collier, Roy Delormier, Jordan McCreadie, Dexter Stacey, (DNS) Andy Howard



BRUCE MAKINSON, Billy Cook, Sid Harmer Jr., Delbert Legrow Jr., Gilles Godard, Mike Stacey, Corey Wheeler, Brianna Ladouceur, Zack Arquiett, Delbert Legrow Sr., Moise Page, Louie Jackson Jr., Rick Reandeau, Tommy Jock Jr., Tim Smythe, Joel Hargrave, Shane Pecore, Jordan Miller, Joel Herne, Thomas Cook, (DNS) Gabriel Cyr


Novice Sportsman

MADISON MULDER, Styles Arquiett, Chris Frennier, Junior Delormier, Dana Francis, Anthony Rasmussen, Greg Ezard, Justin Cook, Frederick Aneje, Sean Castle, Darryl Mitchell, Regi Castelle


Mod Lite

DERIC ELLSWORTH, Harley Brown, Scott Waldrif, Jesse Hudson, Dan Desnoyers, Benjamin Cartier, Steve Jeffery Jr., Jason Paige, Kevin Foster, Mathieu Robinson, Brad Reif, Cameron Reif, Bailey McDonald, John Foster, (DNS) Dan Reif



CORBIN MILLAR, Matt Zira, Shane Ray, Dudes Thompson, Jamie Truelove, Darryl Mainville, Richard Thorton, Cory Castell, Jeff Crawford, Neil Martin