Another perfect night for racing this past Friday at the Mohawk International Raceway as along with the regular card of racing the Frenchie's Ford Go Further Sportsman Series was ready to conclude their 2015 season and everyone was determined to knock 4 time series champion Dylan Evoy of the top of the mountain.


In the 35 lap Frenchie's Ford Series 4 total Mohawk Sportsman championships made up the front row with defending champion Corey Wheeler and Dylan Evoy bringing the field to the green flag with Wheeler getting the advantage over Evoy, Louie Jackson Jr, Jasmine David and Billy Cook completing the top 5. Evoy would waste no time going to the front of the field as he took over the top spot on lap 4 with Wheeler close behind. Evoy began to pull away slightly over the next 10 laps as Wheeler did all he could to keep pace with the leader, behind him Jackson was closing in quickly on the high side and was making a bid for 2nd as the field began to enter lapped traffic. On lap 21 the caution flew as Mike Stacey broke the front end on his car in turn 4, 1 lap later a similar incident with Rick Reandeau occurred as he also lost his front end in turn 4. When the green flew Wheeler found some speed as he took the lead from Evoy with Jackson still 3rd, Shane Pecore came from 15th on the grid to move into 4th and Zack Arquiett came from the 12th spot to round out the top 5. Over the remaining laps it was a classic battle for the lead as Evoy made several attempts to get by and finally made it work on lap 29 as he used the bottom lane to grab the top spot. Evoy seemed headed for a sure win but the caution flew on lap 34 setting up a green white checkered finish. On the final restart Evoy was able to pull away on the bottom lane to record his first win of the year and 7th overall series win. Jackson came home 2nd while Shane Pecore came up for 3rd with Corey Wheeler and Zack Arquiett completing the top 5.


In 358 Modified action George Foley and John Mulder shared the front from with Foley getting the early race lead over Mulder, David Papineau, Jordan McCreadie and Roy Delormier. Foley had a fast car at the start of the event but a quick caution on lap 4 for Dexter Stacey would bunch up the field for a restart that would benefit John Mulder. When the green flew Mulder took over the lead with Foley relegated to 2nd, Delormier, McCreadie and Brian McDonald completed the top 5. Mulder had a fast race car and was looking to grab another great finish as he began to pull away from the field but the caution flew on lap 6 for George Foley who spun in turn 4. Under the yellow points leader Billy Dunn experienced a flat left rear tire. He would get it changed and restart at the tail of the field. When the green flew Mulder would collect the lead but back through the field Craig Collier made hard contact with the wall brining out the yellow once again. The green came back out and Mulder once again looked strong but 2 laps later mayhem ensued. Off turn 4 Brian McDonald lost a left front wheel triggering a multi car tangle in turn 4 which collected Tim Fuller, Gage Morin, Larry Welling Jr., Tom Conklin and Billy Dunn. McDonald's car turned over at the end of the crash and the race was red flagged. All drivers were able to climb out unhurt, their cars however were heavily damaged except for Dunn who was able to make repairs and make a charge to the front once again. When the green flew Mulder held the top spot but Chris Raabe was right there to challenge after coming from his 11th starting spot. The Napanee native was quick and showed some muscle as he used the bottom lane to take over the lead bringing Carey Terrance to the 2nd spot with Mulder, McCreadie and Danny O'Brien completing the top 5. Raabe had a great car and was working the top side nicely but Carey Terrance was on a mission as hel closed in on Raabe over the final laps. Danny O'Brien was also making a late charge as he moved to 3rd but saw heavy smoke from his race car. O'Brien would eventually slow as he took it to the pits ending a shot at victory. In the end Raabe was unstoppable even in lapped traffic as he cruised to his 3rd straight victory over Terrance, Billy Dunn charged through the field to finish up 3rd with Jordan McCreadie and John Mulder rounding out the top 5.


In the Mod Lite 15 lap event Dan Desnoyers has had a horrible 2015 season and was looking to do anything to get back into victory lane. After a nasty flip 2 weeks ago Desnoyers was tapped to drive the backup Jesse Hudson car and made the most of his opportunity. Desnyoers took his car to the lead in the early laps with Kevin Foster, Mathieu Robinson, Jesse Hudson and Deric Ellsworth. Desnoyers was strong in the opening laps but on lap 3 things got scary. Steve Jeffery hooked a wheel in turn 2 sending his car into a series of violent flips in turns 1 and 2 bringing out the red flag. After several minutes track crews were able to get Steve out of the car and was shaken up but unhurt in the accident. Jeffery was taken to local hospital later on for further evaluation. After a lengthy delay the green came back out on lap 6 and Desnoyers was looking to run away and hide but Deric Ellsworth, Kevin Foster, Mathieu Robinson and Harley Brown were on a mission and looking to run down the leader. With 5 to go Desnoyers had built up a comfortable lead and would not look back as he finally claimed his first win in what has the been the toughest season of his career. Ellsworth wound up 2nd with Kevin Foster, Mathieu Robinson and Harley Brown completing the top 5.


The Bandits had the quickest race of the evening as Shane Ray took control of the race lead at the drop of the green with Corbin Millar and Dudes Thompson completing the top 5. Millar has been on a roll at Mohawk winning the last 3 races and would show his muscle on this night as he took over the top spot on lap 5 brining Quincy Roberts to 2nd, Bob Ray, Jeff Crawford and Shane Ray rounded out the top 5. Without the aid of a yellow over the final 7 laps Corbin Millar would not look back as he drove on to easily score his 4th straight Bandit victory over Roberts, Bob Ray, Jeff Crawford and Cory Castell.


Next Friday the intensity picks up as track championships will be on the line along with the Frenchie's Chevy Runs Deep 358 Modified Series finale along with a full card of racing in all divisions. The green flag drops at 7:30.


358 Modified

CHRIS RAABE, Carey Terrance, Billy Dunn, Jordan McCreadie, John Mulder, Maxime Viens, David Papineau, Kory Wilder, Matt Woodruff, Wallace Stacey, Danny O'Brien, Roy Delormier, Brian McDonald, Tim Fuller, Tom Conklin, Gage Morin, Larry Welling Jr., Craig Collier, George Foley, Mike Maresca, Dexter Stacey




IMG_8158 (2) 8-28-15.jpg

DYLAN EVOY, Louie Jackson Jr., Shane Pecore, Corey Wheeler, Zack Arquiett, Mike Maresca, Brianna Ladouceur, Joel Hargrave, Billy Cook, Moise Page, Thomas Cook, Delbert Legrow, Tommy Jock Jr., Junior Delormier, Delbert Legrow Jr., Bruce Makinson, Madison Mulder, Thomas Jock III, Jasmine David, Tim Smythe, Mike Stacey, Greg Snyder, Gilles Godard, Chris Frennier, Kyle Sharp, Steve Morris, Rick Reandeau, Gabriel Cyr, Miguel Peterson, Styles Arquiett





Mod Lite

DAN DESNOYERS, Deric Ellsworth, Kevin Foster, Mathieu Robinson, Harley Brown, Jesse Hudson, Jason Paige, Bailey McDonald, Scott Waldriff, Cameron Reif, John Foster, Brad Reif, Steve Jeffery Jr.



CORBIN MILLAR, Quincy Roberts, Bob Ray, Jeff Crawford, Cory Castell, Curtis Smith, Shane Ray, Neil Martin, Matt Zira, Dudes Thompson