RESULTS 6-03-2106


By: Tim Baltz

A great crowd was on hand along with 97.3 CKON FM and they definitely got their money's worth as great finishes and great racing made for a great night in all 5 classes.

The 358 Modifieds were ready to roll for 30 laps of racing and Larry Welling Jr. had the best seat in the house as he took the lead from the pole position over David Papineau, Pat O'Brien, Carey Terrance and Gage Morin.  Welling has gone winless in his 358 Modified career at MIR and was on a mission as he held a strong lead in the opening 8 laps while behind him Terrance, Morin, O'Brien and Brian McDonald were battling hard in the top 5.  At the halfway point Welling continued his strong run on a track that saw the fast lane be right around the bottom side, while Terrance was doing everything he could to reel in the leader.  As the laps clicked off Welling got closer to his first Mohawk win and in the process got closer to lapped traffic.  This allowed Terrance to close in and found himself on the back bumper of Larry Welling Jr. with 10 laps to go.  With everyone fighting for the bottom Welling was not going to the top side anytime soon so the only hope for Terrance was a mistake in traffic.  That wish came true, coming to the white flag Well tangled with a lapped car sending the car spinning on the front stretch, Welling was able to get away but Terrance found an open lane and charged through to take the lead with Welling and Morin completing the top 3.  Carey Terrance played the patience game perfect as he went on to score his first win of the season in the caution free 30 lap contest with Welling coming home 2nd. Gage Morin Pat O'Brien and Brian McDonald filled out the top 5.

The Sportsman division was set for their 25 lap contest as Delbert Legrow Jr. was looking to things going his was as he took the lead from the pole over Andy Howard, Thomas Cook, Justin White and Mike Stacey.  Legrow has gone winless in his short career but was looking strong as he set a torrid pace in the early stages of the event but veteran Andy Howard was on the charge and closing fast.  At the halfway point Legrow was in front by only a car length as Andy Howard, Thomas Cook, Mike Stacey and Zach Arquiett completed the top 5 drivers.  Howard was hoping for something to happen as Legrow held the bottom lane solidly but on lap 18 one mistake by Legrow coming off turn 4 was all he needed.  Howard would take over the lead with Cook now 2nd, Legrow fell to 3rd while Mike Stacey and Zach Arquiett completed the top 5. Thomas Cook also made his move to 2nd and was closing in while the leader worked through heavy traffic.  After many victories in Pure Stock, Street Stock, Sportsman and 358 Modified at various tracks, Andy Howard finally put it all together as he drove away from the field to score his first ever Mohawk victory in the Sportsman ranks.  Thomas Cook came home 2nd with Mike Stacey 3rd, Dylan Evoy and Ricky Thompson crossing 5th in another caution free race.

In Novice Sportsman Jason Bruno was the early pace setter as he took the lead from the pole over Jamie Begor, Greg Snyder, Anthony Rassmussen and Junior Delormier.  After multiple cautions through the first half of the race Bruno was in control but Anthony Rassmussen was on the move and in search of his 2nd win in a row.  On lap 8 Rassmussen got the break he was looking for as he took over the top spot bringing opening day winner Greg Snyder to 2nd, Bruno, Melvin Rush and Junior Delormier completed the top 5.  Without the aid of a yellow flag Rassmussen put the car on auto pilot as he scored his 2nd straight win with Greg Snyder and Jason Bruno rounding out the top 3.

The Mod Lites were also on hand for a 15 lap contest and Kevin Foster was looking to get things back on track after 2 disappointing weeks.  Foster held the lead at the start but things took a turn for the worse behind him.  Entering turn 3, Deric Ellsworth took a nasty flip virtually destroying his race car in the process.  Ellsworth got out of his car quickly and was uninjured in the crash but the car was heavily damaged. When the race went back under green Scott Waldrif was looking to get to victory lane and completed the most important step and that was taking the top spot from Foster on lap 4 with Harley Brown completing the top 5.  Waldrif had a fast car but behind him Harley Brown and Kevin Foster had a great battle for 2nd and 3rd through the remaining 11 laps.  Waldrif had done everything this season so far except win a race and on this night he checked that off the list scoring his first win of the year over Foster and Harley Brown.

In the Bandit division everyone was looking to stop the winning streak of Richard Thorton, who had won the first 3 races.  Corbin Millar who always runs strong made his first start of the year and was fast early on but Francis White and John Gifford were right there to challenge. Francis White was able to get by Millar for the lead just past halfway but Millar retook the top spot 2 laps later bringing Gifford to 2nd. At the finish nobody had anything for Millar as he scored his first win in his first start of 2016, Gifford came home 2nd with Francis White 3rd.

The 358 Modifieds will have next week off while the Empire Super Sprints(ESS) and Quebec Lightning Sprints join a full card  of Sportsman, Novice Sportsman, Mod Lites and Bandit with the good folks at Brass Horse on hand as well.  The green flag drops at 7:30pm.

358 MODIFIED - CAREY TERRANCE, Larry Welling Jr., Gage Morin, Pat O'Brien, Brian McDonald, Jordan McCreadie, Corey Wheeler, Billy Dunn, Chris Raabe, Zack Aubertine, David Papineau, John Mulder, Todd Stone, Madison Mulder, Patrick Dupree, Kevin Bates, Tommy Jock Jr.

SPORTSMAN - ANDY HOWARD, Thomas Cook, Mike Stacey, Dylan Evoy, Ricky Thompson, Delbert Legrow Jr., Zack Arquiett, Moise Page, Robert Delormier, Brianna Ladouceur, Louie Jackson Jr., Ryan Stabler, Justin White, Jesse Hudson, Troy Fleming, Delbert Legrow, Adam Rozon, Joel Hargrave, Kyle Sharp, Billy Cook, Gabriel Cyr, Neal Provost, Sid Harmer Jr., Jordan Miller, Bruce Makinson, Chris Frennier, Tim Smythe, Joel Herne

NOVICE SPORTSMAN - ANTHONY RASSMUSSEN, Greg Snyder, Jason Bruno, Melvin Rush, Junior Delormier, Cody Aubin, Jamie LaFountain, Jamie Begor, Dudes Thompson, JP Herne, Thunder Anderson, Styles Arquiett

MOD LITE - SCOTT WALDRIF, Kevin Foster, Harley Brown, Dan Reif, Jason Paige, Brad Reif, Deric Ellsworth, Nick Mallette, Jason Premo, John Foster

BANDIT - CORBIN MILLAR, John Gifford, Francis White, Richard Thorton, Shane Ray, Gary Sharlow, Curtis Smith, Jason Anderson, Lucas Brown, Jeff Crawford