By: Tim Baltz


Night number 2 of the Mohawk Nationals at the Mohawk International Raceway was slated to go next but threatening skies would force several delays to get the track in racing condition. With all the delays it didn't stop the racers as they did their best to beat Mother Nature.


The Go Nuclear Late Model 40 lap Richard Tenace Memorial was set for battle and action was happening right on the initial green flag as Brian Down and Shane Tenace made contact sending Tenace into the infield in turn 1 and Brian Down to the outside of the corner. The caution flag flew giving Tenace a chance to get re-fired, however Down would be unable to continue. When the green came out defending series champion Charlie Sandercock would set a torrid pace in the early going over Kyle Sopaz, Chad Homan, Phil Potts, Friday night winner Brandon Mowat and Phil Potts. Sandercock was driving like a mad man as he pulled out to a commanding leadin the opening 20 laps and worked traffic perfectly while Homan and Sopaz battled for 2nd and 3rd. Homan would take the spot away while behind them Brandon Mowat would get to the 4th spot by Phil Potts and try to run down the top 3. Meanwhile Sandercock continued his great run building up a 3.5 second lead with 15 to go but Brandon Mowat was making a serious bid to the front. On lap 28 he took over 3rd from Kyle Sopaz and did all he could to close in on Sandercock and Homan. The only thing that would possibly help Mowat was a caution. However on this night it would not happen as Charlie Sandercock would dominate the entire 40 lap affair for his 3rd series win of the year and 4th at Mohawk. Homan settled for 2nd with Mowat, Kyle Sopaz and Phil Potts completing the top 5.


The DirtCar Pro Stock Series was set to go for 50 laps. Stephane Lebrun came into the evening as the points leader and would lead the way in the opening 6 laps over Jocelyn Roy, Mike White, Justin Desrosiers and Rob Yetman. Sadly on lap 7 the skies opened up forcing officials to cancel the remainder of the program until Sunday morning.


The schedule of events for Sunday morning will see gates open at 10 am with hot laps getting underway at 11 and the Pro Stock feature resuming from lap 7 at Noon sharp. The remainder of the program will see 3 last chance qualifiers for the DirtCar Sportsman Series, TUSA Mod Lite Series 20 lap event and the Olson Fab Pete Mitchell Memorial 100 for the DirtCar Sportsman Series. It's an early start but it's worth it to watch some great racing action at MIR.


Go Nuclear Late Model Richard Tenace Memorial 40

CHARLIE SANDERCOCK, Chad Homan, Brandon Mowat, Kyle Sopaz, Phil Potts, AJ Kingsley, Mark Rayner, Dale Caswell, Chris Fleming, Sean Beardsley, Adam Turner, Greg Belyea, Norm Mayhew, Austin Reid, Terry Hunt, Alan Chapman, Sam Pennachio, Brian Down



DirtCar Sportsman Series Heat Winners

Heat 1: Miguel Peterson

Heat 2: Johnathon Ferguson

Heat 3: Shane Pecore

Heat 4: Brianna Ladouceur

Heat 5: Mike Stacey

Heat 6: Ryan Stabler


DirtCar Sportsman Fast Time

Johnathon Ferguson- 16.899


DirtCar Pro Stock Series Heat Winners

Heat 1: Bruno Cyr

Heat 2: Shawn Kirby

Heat 3: Roch Aubin

Heat 4: Jocelyn Roy


DirtCar Pro Stock Fast Time

Roch Aubin- 18.709


TUSA Mod Lite Series Heat Winners

Heat 1: Joe Isabell

Heat 2: Doug Williams

Heat 3: Paul Klager