By: Tim Baltz


Since Mother Nature decided to hold up the program on Saturday night with rain the officials at the Mohawk International Raceway were ready to go racing early Sunday Morning as drivers were wide awake and up on the wheel on a very slick race surface.


The day started off with the final 43 laps of the DirtCar Pro Stock Series race as Stephane Lebrun would take the lead at the drop of the green flag over Jocelyn Roy and Lebanon Valley Speedway champion Rob Yetman. Lebrun had a stout machine early on but Autodrome Granby and Drummond champion Jocelyn Roy would make several early challenges for the lead. On lap 9 John Greene would slow in turn 3 bringing out the caution. When the green flew it was Rob Yetman taking the lead using the extreme outside lane with Roy, Lebrun, Albany Saratoga Speedway champion Robbie Speed and Bruno Cyr completing the top 5. Yetman and Roy would continue a great side by side battle until the yellow flew on lap 20 for Dustin Bradley who stopped in turn 3. When the green flew Yetman held the lead but a new challenger in the form of Can-Am regular Shawn Kirby, who started to charge forward moving to 4th on lap 22, then would move by Speed on lap 25 and tried at will to run down the leaders. As the laps wound down Yetman looked to have the race in hand but on lap 40 Jocelyn Chicoine slowed to a stop in turn 2 bringing out the final yellow. When the green flew it was a classic side by side battle between the veteran Yetman and Shawn Kirby. The top 2 raced wheel to wheel until lap 45 when Kirby used the extreme inside to take over the lead. From there it was no contest as Shawn Kirby would pull away to score his first career DirtCar Pro Stock Series win over Yetman, Roy, Robbie Speed and Bruno Cyr.


The TUSA Mod Lite Series was set for their 3rd and final race of the weekend and the one question remaining was could anyone stop Jeff May. Paul Klager would make a valiant effort to do just that in the early going as he led the opening 7 laps over Jeff May Joe Isabell Dan Reif and Harley Brown. The top 2 drivers were clearly the class of the field on this day as they pulled away from Isabell by a full straight away. Klager and May would put on a great side by side battle for the lead until lap 14 when Jeff May flexed his muscle, taking the lead away on the high side leaving Klager in 2nd over Isabell, Reif and Brown. Without the aid of a yellow Paul Klager would rely on lapped cars to help him close in on May. With 5 to go Jeff May was caught in some heavy traffic and Klager knew this was the time to make something happen. With 1 to go Klager tried every lane on the speedway but it was not meant to be as Jeff May would march on to his 4th win of the season at Mohawk but more importantly a clean sweep of all 3 TUSA Series races. Klager would cross close behind in 2nd over Joe Isabell, Harley Brown and Tyler Winger who got by Dan Reif on the final lap to finish 5th.


The biggest paying Sportsman race of the season at Mohawk was ready to go as the 100 lap Olson Fab Pete Mitchell Memorial DirtCar Sportsman series race would see the green flag from Austin Swamp and Troyer Sipple. Thomas Cook would lead the opening 5 laps over Jordan Kelly Johnathon Ferguson, Robert Delormier and Mike Stacey. Cook was quick in the early going as he held a comfortable lead until lap 10 when Anthony Rasmussen would spin off the speedway in turn 2. When the green flew on lap 14 Cook continued to lead but Shane Pecore was on the charge from his 9th starting spot as he grabbed 2nd over Delormier, Ferguson and tour regular Martin Pelletier. On lap 22 the 2nd yellow flew for Gilles Godard who made contact with the turn 3 wall. Godard would be towed away but made repairs and returned to the speedway. 1 lap later Ricky Thompson would also spin in turn 3 bringing out another quick yellow. When the caution was put away Thomas Cook would regain the lead but would have some company as Pecore was there to challenge. The top 2 drivers put on a great show for the fans until the yellow flew for the 4th time as George Sanford clipped an infield tire breaking the front end on his machine. On a lap 46 restart Shane Pecore took over the lead and would not let go for the next 8 laps as the competition yellow flew on lap 54. This was the 10 minute pit stop to allow drivers to change Hoosier Racing Tires, add VP Racing Fuel and do whatever necessary to make their cars better. When that was taken care of the green returned and Pecore again would drive away from the field over Cook, Tyler Meeks who came from 12th to 3rd Johnathon Ferguson and Ryan Stabler. As the laps clicked off the race track started to take on rubber and everyone was fighting for the low lane which proved to be a huge advantage for the leader. With Pecore setting the pace Thomas Cook, Tyler Meeks, Ferguson and Louie Jackson Jr. would try their best to stay close. On lap 81 the last yellow flew for Anthony Rasmussen who spun in turn 2. When the green flew Pecore remained in control and without an outside lane available nobody was getting by the Brockville and Cornwall Speedway champion as he would march on to the biggest win of his career taking the Olson Fab Pete Mitchell Memorial 100. Cook settled for 2nd followed by Tyler Meeks, Louie Jackson Jr. charged from 20th to 4th with Mike Stacey claiming his best Sportsman tour finish crossing in 5th.


The 2016 regular season is complete but next Saturday the curtain will fall with the annual Slick Track Enduro with gates opening at 9am and the first green flag will drop at 11:30am.


DirtCar Sportsman Olson Fab Pete Mitchell Memorial 100

SHANE PECORE, Thomas Cook, Tyler Meeks, Louie Jackson Jr., Mike Stacey, Moise Page, Shane Stearns, Martin Pelletier, Robert Delormier, Zach Arquiett, Jessica Power, Delbert Legrow Sr., Johnathon Ferguson, Matt Farnham, Chris Cunningham, Miguel Peterson, Jackson Gill, Adam Rozon, Jordan Kelly, Brian Hudson, Jesse Hudson, Joel Hargrave, Styles Arquiett, Ryan Stabler, Alex Lajoie, George Sanford, Anthony Rasmussen, Ricky Thompson, Taylor Caprara, Gilles Godard, Brianna Ladouceur


DNQ: Sean Beardsley, Troy Fleming, Sid Harmer Jr., Andy Howard, Greg Snyder, Shawn Shaw, Cedric Gauvreau, Kyle Sharp, Dudes Thompson, Tim Smythe, Justin White, Thunder Anderson, Dave Rogers, Brad Rouse, Daryl Mitchell, Joel Herne, Justin Cooke, Connor Dawdy, Chris Thurston, Melvin Rush, Dana Francis, Wyatt Mullin, Billy Cook, Mike Mandigo, Delbert Legrow Jr., Gabriel Cyr


DirtCar Pro Stock Series Pete Mitchell Memorial 50

SHAWN KIRBY, Rob Yetman, Robbie Speed, Jocelyn Roy, Bruno Cyr, Stephane Lebrun, Dean Charbonneau, Justin Desrosiers, Gus Hollner, CD Beauchamp, Stephane Lariviere, Kevin Fetterly Jr., Marc Lalonde, Preston Forbes, Roch Aubin, Owen White, Steve Chaput, John Greene, Dustin Bradley, Jocelyn Chicoine, PJ Peters, Mike White, Jeff Hunter, Dave Seguin, Guy Viens




TUSA Mod Lite Series (25 laps)

JEFF MAY, Paul Klager, Joe Isabell, Harley Brown, Tyler Winger, Dan Reif, Deric Ellsworth, Steven Beckett, Rej Lemieux, Kevin Foster, Scott Mere, Ryan Halliday, Josh Kinney, Nick Mallette, Brad Reif, Josee Fortier, Brady Rookey, Jason Premo, Matt Fregoe, Justin Williams